Serving Larchmont Village, Hancock Park, and the Greater Wilshire neighborhoods of Los Angeles since 2011.

Suzanne Rheinstein Honored by Institute of Classical Architecture & Art with the 2022 Annual Arthur Ross Award

(l-r) Catherine Herman, Bunny Williams and Suzanne Rheinstein attend 2022 Arthur Ross Awards at The University Club on May 23, 2022 in New York. (Photo by Michael Ostuni/PMC)


Prominent local interior designer and Windsor Square resident Suzanne Rheinstein, founder of Suzanne Rheinstein & Associates, was recently honored by the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA) with the organization’s lifetime achievement award, the 2022 Arthur Ross Award.

Rheinstein told the Buzz she was honored to receive the accolade.

“It was such an honor and so delightful that my dear friend Bunny Williams presented the award,” said Rheinstein. “It was just a wonderful evening surrounded by so many friends and distinguished guests.”

Rheinstein was recognized for her elegant work and signature style, often described as “elegant civility” —“fewer things but better things.” Rheinstein’s magic is  in her great attention to comfort, textures, details and light, designed for each client. Rheinstein was the owner of Hollyhock, the renowned home furnishings shop that opened on first on Larchmont Blvd. in 1988 before moving to West Hollywood. She is the author of several best selling books on decorating, featuring many of her projects. She created the Hollyhock Home collection, which includes her furniture and lighting designs. Her Windsor Square home and garden have also been featured in many shelter magazines and books. Rheinstein, along with fellow honoree Marc Appleton, was instrumental in starting the Institute’s Southern California Chapte,r which honored her in 2016.


(l-r) Kate Rheinstein Brodsky, ICAA President Peter Lyden and Suzanne Rheinstein at the 2022 Arthur Ross Awards at The University Club on May 23, 2022 in New York. (Photo by Jared Siskin/PMC)


Along with Rheinstein, ICAA also recognized the extraordinary contributions of the other talented winners: Appleton Partners LLP (Architecture),  John Danzer / Munder-Skiles (Artisanship & Craftsmanship), Arne Maynard Garden Design (Landscape Design & Gardening), Timothy Smith and Jonathan Taylor (Education), Barry Bergdoll (History & Writing), and Raymond L. Gindroz (Board of Directors Honor).

400 practitioners and enthusiasts of classical and traditional architecture and design gathered to recognize the tremendous achievements of this year’s winners, who have collectively brought to life extraordinary architectural works, beautiful interiors, magical gardens and landscapes, thoughtful and inventive furniture, life-changing educational programs, fascinating and deeply researched books, and even entire neighborhoods and communities built on the principles of classical design, announced ICAA.

The awards were presented by ICAA Board Chairman Russell Windham, who was joined by ICAA Board Member Bunny Williams for the presentation of Suzanne Rheinstein’s award, and ICAA Board Member Michael Mesko for Raymond L. Gindroz’s award.

Also honored as part of the evening’s festivities was the winner of the Award for Emerging Excellence in the Classical Tradition, Rodrigo Bollat Montenegro. The Award, which is now in its sixth year, is a collaboration between the ICAA, The Prince’s Foundation, and the International Network for Traditional Building, Architecture & Urbanism (INTBAU) and recognizes exceptional talent exhibited by young professionals in classical and traditional architecture, landscape and interior design, building crafts, urban design and planning, and the allied arts.

The 2022 Arthur Ross Award winners were selected by a jury that included Kathryn Herman (Chair), Courtney Coleman, Timothy Corrigan, Jared Goss, Liz Graziolo, Craig Hamilton, Ellen McGauley, Mark Pledger, and Bill Sullivan. Honorary Chairs include Janet C. Ross, Suzanne R. Santry, and Bunny Williams.

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA) is a nonprofit membership organization committed to promoting and preserving the practice, understanding, and appreciation of classical design.


ICAA 2022 Arthur Ross Awards recipients (l-r) Russell Windham, John Danzer, Arne Maynard, Andrew Scott, Suzanne Rheinstein, Marc Appleton, Timothy Smith, Barry Bergdoll, Jonathan Taylor and Kenneth Mineau at The University Club on May 23, 2022 in New York. (Photo by Jared Siskin/PMC/PMC)


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Patricia Lombard
Patricia Lombard
Patricia Lombard is the publisher of the Larchmont Buzz. Patty lives with her family in Fremont Place. She has been active in neighborhood issues since moving here in 1989. Her pictorial history, "Larchmont" for Arcadia Press is available at Chevalier's Books.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Latest Articles

.printfriendly { padding: 0 0 60px 50px; }